The Modal Auxiliary Verbs

GRAMMAR-adult-classCan

1. He can swim well

He can’t swim well

Can he swim well?

2. He can play the piano

He can’t play the piano

Can he play the piano?

3. She can speak English very well

She can’t speak English very well

Can she speak English very well?

4. You can do it now

You can’t do it now

Can You do it now?

5. You can eat here

You can’t eat here

Can you eat here?

Could

1. She could be home anytime

She couldn’t be home anytime

Could she be home anytime?

2. I could come if you like

I couldn’t come if you like

Could I come if you like ?

3. When I was young, I could run three miles a day

When I was young, I couldn’t run three miles a day

Could I run three miles a day when I was young ?

4. He could go to the party yesterday

He couldn’t go to the party yesterday

Could he go to the party yesterday ?

5. He could write with his left hand

He couldn’t write with his left hand

Could he write with his left ?

Would

1. He said that he would talk to her

He said that he wouldn’t talk to her

Would he said that to talk to her ?

2. They told me that they would come

They told me that they wouldn’t come

Would they told to you that they come ?

3. When she still lived here, she would sit there for hours

When she still lived here, she wouldn’t sit there for hours

Would she sit there for hours when she still lived here ?

4. When I was child, I would go for a swim every Sunday

When I was child, I wouldn’t go for a swim every Sunday

Would I go for a swim every Sunday when I was child ?

5. Every morning at about five he would wake up and work on the farm

Every morning at about five he wouldn’t wake up and work on the farm

Would he wake up and work on the farm every morning at about five ?

May

1. You may go home now

You may not go home now

May you go home now ?

2. The students may eat in the classroom

The students may not eat in the classroom

May the students eat in the classroom ?

3. They may swim here

They may not swim here

May they swim here ?

4. He may be late

He may not be late

May he be late ?

5. This medicine may relieve your pain

This medicine may not relieve your pain

May this medicine relieve your pain ?

Might

1. He might be crazy

He might not be crazy

Might he be crazy ?

2. She might come at seven o’clock

She might not come at seven o’clock

Might she come at seven o’clock ?

3. We might go away on holiday next week

We might not go away on holiday next week

Might we go away on holiday next week ?

4. They might want to take a plane

They might not want to take a plane

Might they want to take a plane?

5. He might be late

He might not be late

Might he be late?

Must

1. Children must review their lessons every day

Children must not review their lessons every day

Must children review their lessons every day ?

2. I must go now

I must not go now

Must I go now ?

3. You must be thirsty

You must not be thirsty

Must you be thirsty ?

4. He must be twenty-two years old because he is a fresh graduate

He must not be twenty-two years old because he is a fresh graduate

Must he be twenty-two years old because he is a fresh graduate ?

5. He must speak Italian

He must not speak Italian

Must he speak Italian ?

Should

1. You should to study Physic

You should not to study Physic

Should you to study Physic ?

2. You should to sleep early

You should not to sleep early

Should you to sleep early ?

3. I should to give up smoking

I should not to give up smoking

Should I to give up smoking ?

4. They should be arriving now

They should not be arriving now

Should they be arriving now ?

5. He should have came earlier

He should not have came earlier

Should he has came earlier ?

Ought to

1. You ought to play the game

You ought to not play the game

Ought you to play the game ?

2. The police ought to direct the traffic better

The police ought to not direct the traffic better

Ought to the police direct the traffic better ?

3. The government ought to bring down the illiterate rate in our country

The government ought to not bring down the illiterate rate in our country

Ought to The government bring down the illiterate rate in our country ?

4. You ought to be ashamed of yourself

You ought to not be ashamed of yourself

Ought to you be ashamed of yourself ?

5. You ought to bring an umbrella with you

You ought to not bring an umbrella with you

Ought to you bring an umbrella with you ?

Had better

1. You had better say something

You had better not say something

Had you better say something ?

2. We had better go early

We had better not go early

Had we better go early ?

3. You had better brush your teeth before go to campus

You had better not brush your teeth before go to campus

Had you better brush your teeth before go to campus?

4. I had better present at class

I had better not present at class

Had I better present at class ?

5. You had better take care your self

You had better not take care your self

Had you better take care your self?

Have to

1. You have to go now

You haven’t to go now

Have you to go now?

2. I have to keep your belongings

I haven’t to keep your belongings

Have I to keep your belongings?

3. You have to read the novel

You haven’t read the novel

Have you read the novel?

4. They have to do their homework

They haven’t to do their homework

Have they to do their homework?

5. I have to wake up early

I have not to wake up early

Have I to wake up early?

Have got

1. You have got take something

You have not got take something

Have you got take something?

2. I have got go now

I have not got go now

Have I got go now?

3. They have got back right now

They have not got back right now

Have they got back right now?

4. We have got teacher’s room

We have not got teacher’s room

Have we got teacher’s room?

5. You have got do your task

You have not got do your task

Have you got do your task?

Prefer 

1. I prefer reading to writing

I prefer not reading to writing

Prefer I reading to writing?

2. They prefer stand up

They prefer not stand up

Prefer they stand up?

3. My father prefers car to motorcycle

My father prefers not car to motorcycle

Prefer my father car to motorcycle?

4. My brother prefer studying to playing

My brother prefer not studying to playing

Prefer my brother studying to playing?

5. He prefers here

He prefers not here

Prefer he here?

Like…better than

1. I like speaking better than listening

I don’t like speaking better than listening

Do you like speaking better than listening?

2. He likes swimming better than cycling

He doesn’t like swimming better than cycling

Does he like swimming better than cycling?

3. We like milk better than coffee

We don’t like milk better than coffee

Do we like milk better than coffee?

4. I like motorcycle better than bicycle

I don’t like motorcycle better than bicycle

Do you like motorcycle better than bicycle?

5. I like batik better than shirt

I don’t like batik better than shirt

Do you like batik better than shirt?

Would…rather

1. I would rather go to library

I would rather not go to library

Would you rather go to library?

2. She would rather reading

She would rather not reading

Would she rather reading?

3. They would rather playing futsal

They would rather not playing futsal

Would they rather playing futsal?

4. My mother would rather cooking in the kitchen

My mother would rather not cooking in the kitchen

Would my mother rather cooking in the kitchen?

5. My brother would rather riding

My brother would rather not riding

Would my brother rather riding?

Would

1. You would get some water

You would not get some water

Would you get some water?

2. They would come for one hours later

They would not come for one hours later

Would they come for one hours laters?

3. He would give me present

He would not give me present

Would he give me present?

4. She would sit there for hours

She would not sit there for hours

Would she sit there for hours?

5. He would stay at home

He would not stay at home

Would he stay at home?

Countable Nouns

Countable nouns are easy to recognize. They are things that we can count. Here are some countable nouns : One player, every person, five pencils, both students, a couple of pillows, a few tables, several grammar books, many chairs, too many books, a number of clocks, some films, a lot of children, lots of men, plenty of boys, most girls, all computers, not any speakers, one third of the graduates, etc

 Uncountable Nouns

Countable nouns are hard to recognize. They are things that we can’t count. Here are some uncountable nouns : Blood, coffee, gasoline, ink, juice, ketchup, milk, syrup, shampoo, tea, sugar, salt, dust, flour, wheat, corn, air, water, smog, smoke, steam, cotton, glass, petrol, faith, comfort, gratitude, greed, ice, trust, width, joy, etc

Tags:

Leave a Reply

